Rajapaksa, Sirisena, 17 others hand over nominations for SL presidency

The incumbent Sri Lankan president Mahinda Rajapakse of the United Peoples Freedom Alliance, common opposition candidate Maithripala Sirisena and seventeen other candidates on Monday handed over their nominations at the SL Elections Secretariat in Rajagiriya, news sources in Colombo said.

“All the 19 candidates who paid their deposits handed over their nominations for the presidential election. The photo copies of the nominations will be displayed outside the Secretariat and any objections with regard to the nominations will be accepted from 11.00 to 11.30 this morning,” SL Elections Commissioner Mahinda Desapriya told media.

At 11:30 a.m. he announced that all 19 candidates were qualified to contest at the election.

The seventh presidential election of genocidal state of Sri Lanka is scheduled to be held on January 8 next year.

Meanwhile Mr. Tissa Attanayake who was General Secretary of the SL main opposition United National Party, on Monday handed over his resignation from the post to the UNP leader Mr. Ranil Wickremesinghe, news sources in Colombo said.

[Full Coverage]

(For updates you can share with your friends, follow TNN on Facebook and Twitter )

Categorised as News