Home » News

ITAK submits candidates’ list to contest Jaffna district

[TamilNet, Wednesday, 24 February 2010 14:34 No Comment]

24_02_10_jaffna_02_85567_218 Mavai Senathirajah, General Secretary of Ilankai Thamil Arasuk Kadchi (ITAK) along with Appathurai Vinayagamoorthy of All Ceylon Tamil Congress (ACTC) submitted the list of Tamil National Alliance (TNA) candidates contesting the general election Wednesday around 11:15 a.m in Jaffna Secretariat. This nomination list has excluded many of the TNA former parliamentarians causing dissatisfaction among several Tamil circles in Jaffna including Jaffna University community, the sources added.

The following persons are the candidates in the TNA nomination list:

  • Mavai Somasuntharam Senathirajah – politician
  • Arumuagam Kanthaiah Premachandran – social worker
  • Appathurai Vinayagamoorthy – lawyer
  • C. V. Kanthaiah Sivagnanam – charted accountant
  • Soosaipillai Xavier Kulanayagam – draftsman
  • Arumugam Nadesu Rasenthiran – accountant
  • Kanthiah Arunthavapalan – principal
  • Sivagnanam Sritharan – head master
  • Eswarapatham Saravanapavan – industrialist
  • Rasarathinam Sivachandran – professor
  • Ponuthurai Ayinkaranesan
  • Mudiyappu Remedias – lawyer

Eswarapatham Saravanapavan is the Managing Director of Uthayan and Chudaro’li dailies and a senior member of UNP executive committee, the sources said.

Rasarathinam Sivachandran is a prominent counsellor of ITAK.

[Full Coverage]

(For updates you can share with your friends, follow TNN on Facebook, Twitter and Google+)

Comments are closed.