Home » News

UPFA 144, UNP60, ITAK-14, DNA-7 constitute new Sri Lankan parliament

[TamilNet, Wednesday, 21 April 2010 08:56 No Comment]

Sri Lankan Elections Secretariat gazetted the names of newly elected members to the seventh parliament which is to meet on Thursday. According to the final results released, the ruling United Peoples Freedom Alliance (UPFA) has won 144 seats including 17 places in the national list. The main opposition United National Party (UNP) bagged 60 seats including nine national list MPs. The Ilankai Tamil Arasu Katchchi (ITAK) won 14 seats including one place in the national list. The Democratic National Alliance (DNA) led by Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) won seven seats including two places in the national list.

The final all island results:

UPFA-4,846,388 (60 per cent)

UNP-2,357,057 (29.34 per cent)

DNA-441,251 (5.49 per cent)

ITAK-233,190 (2.90 per cent)

[Full Coverage]

(For updates you can share with your friends, follow TNN on Facebook, Twitter and Google+)

Comments are closed.