Home » News

Jayalalithaa sworn-in Tamil Nadu chief minister

[MISC, Monday, 16 May 2011 14:48 One Comment]

(IANS) AIADMK general secretary J. Jayalalithaa, 63, was Monday sworn-in Tamil Nadu chief minister for a third time at a packed hall in Madras University as thousands lined up the nearby roads.

She was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Surjit Singh Barnala at the University Centenary Hall. Jayalalithaa will head a 34-member government in the 14th Tamil Nadu assembly.

Barnala also administered oath of office to the council of ministers, days after the AIADMK-led alliance dealt a crushing blow to the DMK-led alliance led by veteran M. Karunanidhi.

Senior politicians like Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi and former Andhra Pradesh chief minister N. Chandrababu Naidu as well as Tamil film personalities were present at the event.

The swearing-in ceremony was also attended by Communist Party of India (CPI) leader A.B. Bardhan, DMDK leaders A. Vijayakanth and Panrutti S. Ramachandran, SMK leader R. Sarathkumar and his wife Radhika.

Chief Justice of Madras High Court M.Y. Eqbal, other judges and members of the Bar Council were also present.

All those who were present at the hall, including Jayalalithaa, had a hearty laugh when C. Karuppasamy took oath in a loud rhythmic staccato voice as the minister for animal husbandry.

Political commentator Cho Ramaswamy was seen gesticulating his hands in sync with Karuppasamy’s oath.

A large number of people gathered at the venue. People lined up on both sides of the road, starting from Jayalalithaa’s residence at Poes Garden and along the entire stretch of Kamaraj Salai on the Marina till the Madras University campus.

Two giant screens were installed outside the venue so that people could view the swearing-in ceremony.

Leaders of rival camp – DMK, Congress and PMK- stayed away from the swearing-in ceremony.

[Full Coverage]

(For updates you can share with your friends, follow TNN on Facebook, Twitter and Google+)

One Comment »

  • MK DAMODARAN said:

    On February 24,I clearly and emphatically predicted in my blog that Jaya will be the next CM.( damodarology.sulekha.com )
    On March 18,2011 I wrote:-
    The AIADMK Supremo Jayalalithaa will contest from SRIRANGAM.In 2006,she contested from ANDIPATTI.See,the name of each constituency contain 9 characters.Jaya has a peculiar penchant for number 9.I have already written some blogs about this.
    Jaya has sworn in as CM for the 3rd time.See,her fate number is 3.Also,her Sun-Sign is represented by 3.
    Sonia Gandhi has congratulated Jaya over the victory of the latter.Numerologically speaking,a political alliance between Sonia and Jaya augurs well.Numbers 3/6/9 are lucky for Sonia also!

    PS:-I have also correctly predicted the WC 2011 victory of India,victory of UDF in kerala(number 13 lucky for Oommen Chandy) and that Mamata would be the next CM