Home » News

Colombo transfers Admin functions of East Tamil areas to Sinhala districts

[TamilNet, Thursday, 4 August 2011 11:46 No Comment]

Sri Lanka government has been implementing a scheme to transfer administrative functions of Tamil districts in Eastern Province to the adjoining Sinhalese districts. As a first step the government has transferred the financial administration of Batticaloa District Coconut Development Board to Polonnaruwa located in the North Central Province. The government should immediately stop this transfer, said Mr.P. Selvarasa, Batticaloa District Tamil National Alliance (TNA) parliamentarian.

The administrative functions of providing Irrigation facilities to border Tamil villages of the Batticaloa district in the Eastern Province Punaanai, Vadamunai, Oothuchcheanai and Omadiyaamadu under the Mahaweli “D” zone have already been delegated to the irrigation Department in Polonnaruwa.

Powers of alienating State lands in Tamil DS divisions, Ko’raa’laipaaththu South, E’raavoorpaththu Chengkaladi, Vavunatheevu, Pattippa’lai and Vellaveli have been transferred to Sinhala officials, TNP MP said.

The inquiry into the allegation that the Archaeological Department has been destroying ancient historical evidence of the Thaanthamalai Murukan Kovil has been handed over to Sinhala officials in Ampaarai District, Mr. Selvarasa says.

Mr. Selvarasa requests the authorities concerned to stop transferring administration of Tamil villages to Sinhala districts.

[Full Coverage]

(For updates you can share with your friends, follow TNN on Facebook, Twitter and Google+)

Comments are closed.