Home » Featured, News

Pirapaharan postal stamp released in Norway

[TamilNet, Sunday, 5 February 2012 08:27 No Comment]

Eezham Tamil activists in Norway on Saturday released stamps featuring LTTE leader V. Pirapaharan, the map of Tamil Eelam and some of the LTTE declared national symbols of the de-facto state of Tamil Eelam, including the Tamil Eelam national flag. The stamps were released in front of the Norwegian Parliament by Jeyasri Balasubramaniam, a candidate elected to represent the Eezham Tamils in two elections held in that country. The event coincided with the so-called independence day of Sri Lanka. On 4th February 1948, the British conferred dominion status to the island then called Ceylon and transferred power to a Colombo-centric, ethnic majoritarian and unitary system of government.


TE_symbols_stamps_norway The release of the stamps, bearing Norway’s postal authority insignia, comes following the release of similar stamps in other countries in Canada and in other countries in Europe.
Tamil activists were seen distributing stamps to Norwegians and Eezham Tamils amidst the cold weather prevailing in the capital of Norway, sources in Oslo said.

Pirapaharan postal stamp released in Norway Pirapaharan postal stamp released in Norway

[Full Coverage]

(For updates you can share with your friends, follow TNN on Facebook, Twitter and Google+)

Comments are closed.