Preferential votes for Jaffna district released

Tamil National Alliance (TNA) chief minister candidate Mr CV Wigneswaran polled 132,255 preferential votes. Ms Ananthi Sasitharan topped among the other candidates polling 87,870 preferential votes. Next to them were Mr Tharmalingam Sitharthan (39,715 votes), Mr Arnold Emmanuel (26,780) and Mr CVK Sivagnanam (26,747). TNA’s Parliamentary Group leader R. Sampanthan told media in Jaffna that the provincial government, which would be convened under the leadership of Mr Wigneswaran would soon announce its future plans. On UPFA side, EPDPs Jaffna district organiser Kamalendran Kandasami has polled 13,632 and SLFP district organiser Ankayan Ramanathan received 10,034 votes.

Following are some of the details of preferential votes from Jaffna district:


CV Wigneswaran 132,255

Ananthi Sasitharan 87,870

Sitharthan Tharmalingam 39,715

Arnold Emmanuel 26 780

CVK Sivagnanam 26747

Gajatheepan Balachandran 23669

MK Sivajilingam 22660

Aingaranesan Ponnuthurai 22268

Sugirthan Suntharalingam 20101

Sajanthan Kesavan 20,546

Nadarasa Kanakaratnam 16,473

Paragnchothy Ariyakutiy 16,359

Sarweswaran Kandiah 14,761

Sivajogan Velupillai 13471


EPDP Jaffna organiser Kamalendran Kandasami 13,632

UPFA organiser Ankayan Ramanathan 10,034

[Full Coverage]

(For updates you can share with your friends, follow TNN on Facebook and Twitter )

Categorised as News